Virtual Scholarship Event

This year's scholarship event will be held online via Zoom.

Honoring Shidler's scholarship donors and recipients.

Keynote Speaker Bob Clarke


With more than 33 years of experience as a business executive in Hawai‘i, Clarke brings a variety of business expertise to the College.

Before retiring in 2006, Clarke had built an illustrious career as a business executive in Hawai‘i. Originally from California, Clarke worked for Dillingham Corporation as a controller and Alexander & Baldwin as senior vice president and chief financial officer. In 1987, Clarke joined HEI as vice president of strategic planning and led the company through its diversification strategy and expansion. He quickly moved up the ranks rising to president and CEO of HEI in 1991 and was named chairman, president and CEO of the company in 1998. 

During his career, Clarke sat on several boards including Hawaii Pacific University, the Straub Foundation, The Oceanic Institute, the Nature Conversancy of Hawaii and the American Judicature Society–Hawaii Chapter. He was also a member of the Hawaii Business Roundtable and the Air Force Civilian Advisory Council.

Clarke received a BA degree in economics and an MBA degree in finance from the University of California at Berkeley. In 2008, Clarke was inducted into the Shidler College of Business Hall of Honor.

Undergraduate Speaker Joanne Aquino Ordinado


I am a junior majoring in Travel Industry Management and pursuing a minor in Spanish. I was born and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii and graduated from President William McKinley High School. I entered the TIM School as a freshman and a first-generation college student.

Throughout my time at UH Manoa, I have received numerous scholarships: The Academy of Hospitality and Tourism Scholarship, Hawaii B Plus Scholarship, Summer Freshman Merit Scholarship, Edwin M. Hastings Scholarship, Mildred Towle Study Abroad Scholarship and the Manoa Mullahey Scholarship. With the help of financial aid, I was able to pay for my college tuition on my own and participate in the Study Abroad Program at Flinders University in Adelaide, Australia.

I have been an active member of Eta Sigma Delta, the TIM Schools Honor Society and the Travel Industry Management Student Association where I am now serving as the Director of Social Affairs.

Throughout college, I have made my way around the hospitality field participating in the Disney College Program at the Walt Disney Resort in Orlando, Florida and working as a Front Desk Ambassador at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel.

Graduate Speaker Penelope Ng Pack


Penelope Ng Pack is a full-time second year Global MBA student and the recipient of the Shidler College of Business Visionary Distinguished Scholarship.

Ng Pack is an Account Executive at MVNP Advertising Agency. Previous professional experiences range from interning at the Congressional Office of Representative Mark Takai, to DDB Worldwide Inc. in New York City, and Interactive Sponsor in London.

A Honolulu local, Ng Pack graduated from Punahou School, and graduated cum laude from American University in Washington, DC with her Bachelor of Science in Business with a dual-specialization in Integrated Marketing Communications and Digital Strategy.

Ng Pack is Miss Hawaii 2018. She won the Women in Business Scholarship and Non-Finalist Talent award at Miss America. Ng Pack was the 2018 Official Goodwill Ambassador for Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals in Hawaii while also promoting her social impact initiative Page by Page: Helping Kids Read to Succeed in partnership with the Hawaii State Public Library System.