Shidler College inducts five distinguished alumni into its Hall of Honor

Hall of Honor Inductees
From left: Ray Vara, president & CEO, Hawai‘i Pacific Health (presenting sponsor); Wee Loke Tang, independent non-executive director, UOB-Kay Hian Holdings Ltd.; David Y. Okabe, executive VP, CFO, treasurer, Hawai‘i Pacific Health; Tayne S.Y. Sekimura, se

Five distinguished alumni were honored at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Shidler College of Business annual Hall of Honor Awards fundraising dinner on October 11, 2018, at the Sheraton Waikiki.

The 2018 inductees are Mary K. Fastenau (EMBA ’96), partner and president, digital, of Anthology Marketing Group, Inc.; Michael K. Hirai (BBA ’78), senior managing director and partner of Metaurus Advisors, LLC; David Y. Okabe (BBA ’84), executive VP, chief financial officer and treasurer of Hawai‘i Pacific Health; Tayne S.Y. Sekimura (BBA ’84), senior VP and chief financial officer of Hawaiian Electric Company, Inc.; and Wee Loke Tang (BBA ’73), independent non-executive director of UOB-Kay Hian Holdings Ltd.

Since 1992, more than 94 outstanding business professionals have been inducted into the Hall of Honor, representing a wide range of industries and exemplifying the best of business in Hawai‘i and the world. Honorees are selected for their leadership qualities and outstanding contributions to their profession, community and alma mater.

With the support of the Shidler Alumni Association, more than 500 professionals representing over 50 companies attended this year’s event to help raise funds for the Shidler College of Business. Proceeds support student scholarships, student enrichment programs, alumni outreach, and student activities.

Hawai‘i Pacific Health served as the presenting sponsor, with contributing sponsors First Hawaiian Bank, Hawaiian Electric Company, Inc. and Hawaiian Electric Industry, Anthology Marketing Group, Inc., and media sponsor Pacific Business News.

If you would like to support the Shidler College of Business, please contact Unyong Nakata, executive director of development, at or (808) 286-0702.

2018 Hall of Honor Awards

2018 Shidler College of Business Hall of Honor Award Recipients

Mary K. Fastenau is a partner at Anthology Marketing Group Inc. and president of its Digital Group. Fastenau has 38 years of experience in communications and the digital marketing industry. She began working at Starr Seigle Communications Inc., in 1989 and co-founded its digital division StarrTech Interactive in 1995. Fastenau co-founded Anthology in 2007 with the merger of Hawai‘i’s two largest communication companies. She has received numerous recognitions for her work and leadership in the community including Ad Woman of the Year by the American Advertising Federation Hawaii chapter and Women Who Mean Business award by Pacific Business News. Fastenau serves on several boards including the American Heart and Stroke Association, Na Koa Football Club, Catholic Charities and American Lung Association Lung Force.

Michael K. Hirai is a senior managing director and partner at Metaurus Advisors, LLC, an asset management and financial innovation company based in New York. He has 34 years of experience in asset management and most recently served as senior vice president and manager of First Hawaiian Bank’s Institutional Advisory Services Division. Hirai also served as a director, president, CEO and chief investment officer of Bishop Street Capital Management. In 1990, he served as a partner, chairman and director of fixed income at CIC/HCM Asset Management firm, which was sold to First Hawaiian Bank in 2004. Hirai currently serves on the boards of the University of Hawai‘i Foundation, Aloha Council, Boy Scouts of America, and is a director of CFA Society Hawaii.

David Y. Okabe is the executive vice president, chief financial officer and treasurer of Hawai‘i Pacific Health, which is anchored by four medical centers—Kapi‘olani, Pali Momi, Straub and Wilcox—and numerous satellite locations. He has more than 30 years of executive experience in the accounting sector. Okabe began his career with Ernst & Young in Honolulu. In 1999, he moved to Kapi‘olani Health and was promoted to vice president and treasurer in 2001. After the merger that created Hawai‘i Pacific Health in 2004, Okabe was elevated to chief financial officer. He currently serves as the president of Hawai‘i Pacific Health Partners. He also serves on the boards of Providers Insurance Company, the Chamber of Commerce Hawaii, Diamond Head Theatre, Hawaiian Humane Society, and the School of Accountancy at the Shidler College of Business.

Tayne S.Y. Sekimura has served as senior vice president and chief financial officer of Hawaiian Electric Company, Inc. since 2009. She oversees all financial areas of the company including accounting, budgeting, financial planning and analysis, treasury and enterprise risk management. Since joining Hawaiian Electric Company, Inc., Sekimura has held leadership positions in internal audit, strategic planning, finance, information technology, facilities management and customer service. Prior to joining Hawaiian Electric Company, Inc., she was an audit manager at KPMG. Sekimura currently serves on the boards of the Leadership in Disabilities and Achievement of Hawaii, and Special Olympics Hawaii.

Wee Loke Tang is the independent non-executive director of UOB-Kay Hian Holdings Ltd., a global investment bank headquartered in Singapore. Tang began his career as an investment analyst at Kay Hian, a small family-owned firm in Singapore. Within four years, he was promoted to director then deputy managing director of Kay Hian in 1981. Following the merger with United Overseas Bank (UOB) Securities in 2001, Tang was appointed deputy managing director of UOB-Kay Hian and helped engineer a series of acquisitions that turned UOB-Kay Hian into Singapore’s largest brokerage with capabilities in trading securities, margin financing, underwriting and corporate finance. In 2007, Tang retired yet remains on the board of UOB-Kay Hian as an executive director. Under his leadership, the company has grown from a 20-member sales staff to a sales team of 1,100 across Asian markets, as well as in New York and London. During his 40-year career in finance, Tang served as independent director of the Singapore Stock Exchange (SGX) from 2002 to 2007, and founded and chaired the Securities Association of Singapore.

For a full list of past honorees, visit